January 4th 2024 Meeting Minutes



The Taylor County Board of Supervisors met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday,

January 4, 2024, Supervisor Fitzgerald called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Supervisor roll call: Fitzgerald, Watson and Beggs all present.  Also present:  Judy Henry, Justin Savage and Lessa Lester.

Beggs made a motion to approve the minutes from December 28 & 29, 2023, meetings and Agenda for today. Watson seconded.  MC 3-0.

Public comments:

No Comments.

Committee Report:

Watson reported on Southern Iowa Trolley. 

Secondary Roads:

Savage wanted the Board to consider moving some County Roads from Level B to Level C.  Savage would like to trim back on some of the expenses.  If the Board considered the change, there would be opportunities for the public to voice their concerns.  There were no Utility Permits. Savage presented the Board with Posted Weight Limit Changes for 2024.  Watson made a motion to approve the Bridge Embargo’s for 2024.  Beggs seconded the motion. MC 3-0.  Savage presented the 2024 Secondary Road Holiday Schedule.  Savage stated they tend to pick their floating holidays in the summer months due to the chance of snowstorms in winter months.  Beggs made a motion to accept the Holiday Schedule as presented.  Watson seconded the motion.  MC 3-0.

New Business:

Lessa Lester of Southern Iowa Trolley presented her funding request for FY 24/25.  Lester stated they are requesting $2500, same as last year.  Beggs made a motion to approve the funding for $2500 for FY24/25.  Watson seconded the motion.  MC 3-0.  Lester also updated the Board on the search for new site for the Trolley system.                                                                                                                                                    

Old Business:

Shellia Culp questioned when repair to the West Courthouse entrance floor would start. Beggs said Native Hard Wood would be starting the week of January 8, 2024. 

Reorganization Meeting:

Beggs motioned for Ron Fitzgerald to remain Chairman.  Watson seconded the motion.  MC 3-0.

Fitgerald motioned for Kim Watson to act as Vice Chair.  Beggs seconded the motion. MC 3-0.

The following were unanimously appointed/elected to serve:

Official Newspapers: Bedford Times Press and Lenox Times Table

Official Depositories: State Savings Bank and First Interstate Bank

EMA Coordinator: Mick Ware, EMA Assistant: Belinda Ogle

Conservation Board: Jeff Soulsby

Veterans Board: Susan Breach

Board of Health: Diane Ware

Retain All Medical Examiners: Kopp, Gruba and Fernando

ADA Director: Shellia Culp

HIPPA Coordinator: Crystal Drake

Supervisor Board and Committee Representation:
Ronal Fitzgerald: MATURA, Crossroads, Emergency Management Commission, Wellness Committee and ATURA.

Kim Watson: Southern Iowa Trolley, Mental Health, Hungry Canyons, Safety Committee, Southern Iowa Resource Conservation & Development, 911 Alternate and Children’s Mental Health.

Jack Beggs: DECAT Board, Adams/Taylor Landfill, Ambulance Board, Enterprise Zone Commission, Taylor County Courthouse Security Committee and SICOG.

All other Boards and Commissions remained the same.         

The Board reviewed and approved claims to be paid.

The Board discussed topics of discussion for future meetings.

Watson made a motion to adjourn the meeting.  Beggs seconded. MC 3-0.

The Board of Supervisors approve these minutes to be published in the Taylor County Board of Supervisors Minute Book:

    _____________________________ Ronald Fitzgerald, Chairman Taylor County Board of Supervisors    __________________________________ Attest, Judy Henry                           Taylor County Auditor
<a href="https://www.taylorcounty.iowa.gov/meetings/july-2nd-2024-meeting-agenda/"/>Meeting Agenda</a>